Events

Public Open Days


The Albion, a Norfolk wherry, now 119 years old was built as a cargo carrying sailing barge and rescued by Norfolk Wherry Trust in 1949, and maintained in sailing condition by volunteers ever since. She has a vast black sail and her hull measures some 60' long by 15' wide. Voted 'runner up' Flagship of the Year by National Historic Ships in 2010, she recently featured in TV programmes hosted by Matt Baker and Giles Coren. Come and see the Broads icon that enchanted them.

Albion Open Days 2018


Open days from 10am til 4pm. Free entry with car parks, pubs and cafes nearby. For further details email events@wherryalbion.com

Mon 28th May   -   Potter Heigham by the Old Bridge
Sun 15th Jul   -   Norwich Riverside adjacent to Yacht Station
Fri 20th Jul   -   Beccles by the Quay off Fen Lane
Sun 22nd Jul   -   Oulton Broad by the Harbour Masters Office
Tue 7th Aug   -   Horning by The Swan
Wed 8th Aug   -   Ranworth by The Maltsters Pub
Thu 6th Sep   -   Heritage Open Day - Part of the Norwich HODS programme at our Ludham Base (for directions click here).


Day Cruises 2018


You may wish to sail on Albion for a day, gliding along our wonderful rivers through magical wetlands. For further details and bookings ring 01692 630593 or email charter@wherryalbion.com

Unless otherwise stated costs are : £30 for trust members - £35 for non members

Sat 16th Jun   -   Return trip from our Ludham base - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Tue 10th Jul   -   Return trip from Oulton Broad - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Wed 11th Jul   -   One way trip from Oulton Broad to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Thu 12th Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Fri 13th Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Sat 14th Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham). You will need to organise return transport.
Mon 16th Jul   -   One way trip from Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham) to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Wed 18th Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Beccles. You will need to organise return transport.
Mon 6th Aug   -   One way trip from Ludham to Horning. You will need to organise return transport.

If these dates aren't suitable or you're part of a larger group you might want to consider organising a charter of Albion for your party ? Our chartering information can be found here.


Other Events 2018


Sat 16th Jun   -   Annual General Meeting at our Ludham base (18.00 for 18.30).
Sat 8th/Sun 9th Sep   -   Great Yarmouth Maritime Festival - Historic South Quay. (For more information click here). Albion will not be present.

Sat 17th Nov   -   Member's Laying-up Supper at The Old Rectory Hotel, Crostwick.
Click here for details.


For further details email events@wherryalbion.com