Events

Public Open Days


The Albion, a Norfolk wherry, now 119 years old was built as a cargo carrying sailing barge and rescued by Norfolk Wherry Trust in 1949, and maintained in sailing condition by volunteers ever since. She has a vast black sail and her hull measures some 60' long by 15' wide. Voted 'runner up' Flagship of the Year by National Historic Ships in 2010, she recently featured in TV programmes hosted by Matt Baker and Giles Coren. Come and see the Broads icon that enchanted them.

Albion Open Days 2017


Open days from 10am til 4pm. Free entry with car parks, pubs and cafes nearby. For further details email events@wherryalbion.com

Mon 29th May   -   Potter Heigham by the Old Bridge
Sun 25th Jun   -   Ludham Open Gardens
Mon 10th Jul   -   Norwich Riverside adjacent to Yacht Station
Fri 14th Jul   -   Beccles by the Quay off Fen Lane
Sun 16th Jul   -   Oulton Broad by the Harbour Masters Office
Tue 1st Aug   -   Horning by The Swan
Wed 2nd Aug   -   Ranworth by The Maltsters Pub
Thu 7th Sep (tbc)   -   Heritage Open Day - Part of the Norwich HODS programme at our Ludham Base (for directions click here).


Day Cruises 2017


You may wish to sail on Albion for a day, gliding along our wonderful rivers through magical wetlands. For further details and bookings ring 01692 630593 or email charter@wherryalbion.com

Unless otherwise stated costs are : £30 for trust members - £35 for non members

Sat 24th Jun   -   Return trip from our Ludham base - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Tue 4th Jul   -   Return trip from Oulton Broad - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Wed 5th Jul   -   One way trip from Oulton Broad to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Thu 6th Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Fri 7th Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Sat 8th Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Sun 9th Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham). You will need to organise return transport.
Tue 11th Jul   -   One way trip from Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham) to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Thu 13th Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Beccles. You will need to organise return transport.
Sat 15th Jul   -   One way trip from Beccles to Oulton Broad. You will need to organise return transport.
Mon 17th Jul   -   Return trip from Oulton Broad - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Mon 31st Jul   -   One way trip from Ludham to Horning. You will need to organise return transport.


Other Events 2017


Sat 24th Jun   -   Annual General Meeting at our Ludham base (18.00 for 18.30).
Sat 9th/Sun 10th Sep   -   Great Yarmouth Maritime Festival - Historic South Quay. (For more information click here). Albion will not be present.

Sat 11th Nov   -   Member's Laying-up Supper at The Old Rectory Hotel, Crostwick.


For further details email events@wherryalbion.com