Events

Public Open Days


The Albion, a Norfolk wherry, now 120 years old was built as a cargo carrying sailing barge and rescued by Norfolk Wherry Trust in 1949, and maintained in sailing condition by volunteers ever since. She has a vast black sail and her hull measures some 60' long by 15' wide. Voted 'runner up' Flagship of the Year by National Historic Ships in 2010, she has featured in TV programmes hosted by Matt Baker and Giles Coren and hosted Timothy West & Prunella Scales in an episode of Great Canal Journeys. Come and see the Broads icon that enchanted them.

Albion Open Days 2019


Open days from 10am til 4pm. Free entry with car parks, pubs and cafes nearby. For further details email events@wherryalbion.com

Sun 12th May   -   "Go Wild at Barton Turf" at Staithe Road, Barton Turf. NR12 8AZ.
Mon 27th May   -   Potter Heigham by the Old Bridge
Sun 30th Jun   -   Oulton Broad by the Harbour Masters Office
Sat 6th Jul   -   Norwich Riverside adjacent to Yacht Station
Tue 9th Jul   -   Beccles by the Quay off Fen Lane
Tue 30th Jul   -   Horning by The Swan
Thu 19th Sep   -   Heritage Open Day - Part of the Norwich HODS programme at our Ludham Base (for directions click here).


Day Cruises 2019


You may wish to sail on Albion for a day, gliding along our wonderful rivers through magical wetlands. For further details and bookings Tel: 01362 822058 (evenings), Mob: 07586 353904 or email charter@wherryalbion.com

Unless otherwise stated costs are : £30 for trust members - £35 for non members

Sat 22nd Jun   -   Return trip from our Ludham base - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Sat 29th Jun   -   Return trip from Oulton Broad - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Mon 1st Jul   -   One way trip from Oulton Broad to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Tue 2nd Jul   -   Return trip from Cantley - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Wed 3rd Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham). You will need to organise return transport.
Thu 4th Jul   -   Return trip from Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham) - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Fri 5th Jul   -   Return trip from Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham) - destination dependent upon wind and tides.
Sun 7th Jul   -   One way trip from Norwich (Frostbites @ Whitlingham) to Cantley. You will need to organise return transport.
Mon 8th Jul   -   One way trip from Cantley to Beccles. You will need to organise return transport.
Wed 10th Jul   -   One way trip from Beccles to Oulton Broad. You will need to organise return transport.
Mon 29th Jul   -   One way trip from Ludham to Horning. You will need to organise return transport.

If these dates aren't suitable or you're part of a larger group you might want to consider organising a charter of Albion for your party ? Our chartering information can be found here.


Other Events 2019


Sat 22nd Jun   -   Annual General Meeting at our Ludham base (18.00 for 18.30).
Sun 23rd Jun   -   Ludham Open Gardens, where our base will be open and Albion will be available for visitors to look around.
Sat 7th/Sun 8th Sep (TBC)   -   Great Yarmouth Maritime Festival - Historic South Quay. (For more information click here). Albion will not be present.

Sat 16th Nov   -   Member's Laying-up Supper at The Old Rectory Hotel, Crostwick.
Click here for details.


For further details email events@wherryalbion.com